New chair for Infrastructure Sustainability Council - ISCouncil
City Rail Link: Leading in Sustainability

New chair for Infrastructure Sustainability Council

Wednesday, 17 November 2021

The Board of Directors of the Infrastructure Sustainability Council has announced the appointment of Deborah Spring as the Chair Elect. Ms Spring will succeed Alison Rowe who has held the position since November 2018, after serving two terms.

Deeply familiar with driving systemic industry change, Ms Spring is an independent director and the Chief Executive Officer of the Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board and chaired its Board for six years.

A mechanical engineer with an MBA from Harvard Business School, Ms Spring has 15-plus years’ experience as a professional director. Her extensive governance experience extends to unlisted companies, government businesses and start-ups, with expertise across the infrastructure, transport, logistics and e-commerce sectors. Her passionate is seated in business transformation underpinned by disruptive technologies.

Ms Spring has held senior executive positions with TasRail, National Rail and Australia Post. As Chair of the Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board, Ms Spring elevated the organisation’s brand recognition and industry profile. She was chair of the prestigious Banksia Foundation for three years through a period of double-digit growth.

“Deborah’s extensive board experience, strong track record in business transformation and deep connections across infrastructure made her a perfect fit for the role of Chair as we accelerate toward a resilient, inclusive and net-zero future.,” said outgoing ISC Chair, Alison Rowe.

As director and chair of the governance committee of the largest tertiary education provider in northern Victoria – the Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Ms Spring understands the importance of strategic investment in capacity and capability to deliver sectoral advancement.

“The ISC has a strong reputation for driving best practice and enabling significant intergenerational change. I am delighted to be joining an organisation set to soar, with an expanding and loyal membership. I look forward to industry continuing to be energised, skilled and connected. And importantly, standing proudly together backing our position as global leaders in sustainable infrastructure,” said Deborah Spring

Chief Executive Officer, Ainsley Simpson paid tribute to outgoing Chair Alison Rowe.

“Alison has been a fierce champion of sustainability and has driven the Council’s strategy development and governance transformation over the last three years. She led with an inclusive transparent approach through a period of great uncertainty, into a period of positive growth and acceleration of collaborative outcomes.

Ms Spring will commence the role on 1 January 2022.


Media contact:

Karen Jamal or 0412 179 135


About Infrastructure Sustainability Council

The Infrastructure Sustainability Council is Australia and New Zealand’s authority on sustainable infrastructure projects and assets. The IS Council’s purpose is to ensure all infrastructure delivers cultural, social, environmental and economic benefits. The Council works with more than 20 federal, state and local government departments in Australia and New Zealand. The Infrastructure Sustainability (IS) rating scheme is mandated by delivery agencies and asset operators across Australia and New Zealand with more than $200 billion infrastructure projects undertaking ratings. The Council represents 200-plus individual companies, departments and associations with a combined annual turnover of more than $50 billion. For more information, contact the IS Council on or visit

Previous Next