2019 Infrastructure Sustainability Awards Judges - ISCouncil

2019 Infrastructure Sustainability Awards Judges

Monday, 8 July 2019

2019 Infrastructure Sustainability Judges

After another huge year of ratings, achievements and records, the 2019 Infrastructure Sustainability (IS) Awards are set to be the largest to date. This year the Awards Gala Dinner will be hosted by Gretel Killeen and set in the splendour of the Crown Hotel’s Aviary in Melbourne. Six awards will be presented the 2019 leading people, projects and organisations in the industry;

1.     IS Individual Leadership Award

2.     IS Emerging Young Leader Award

3.     IS Innovation and Impact Award

4.     IS Organisational Leadership Award

5.     IS Outstanding Achievement Award (Design)

6.     IS Outstanding Achievement Award (As Built)

Four of the awards (Outstanding Achievement Awards are based on IS Rating score) will be scored by our hand-picked judging panel. The judges represent a diverse range of talents and experience – aside from a passion for sustainability, the panel covers expertise in; human rights, sustainable development goals, urban design and planning, smart cities, responsible procurement, social sustainbility and the wider built environment.


Patricia Garcia AO – United Nations Association Australia

Patricia is a highly- respected humanitarian and human rights advocate with experience in project design and delivery, campaigning and fundraising. She is a 2017 Rotary Peace Fellow and Honorary Associate at the Department of Peace and Conflict Studies SSPS, University of Sydney where she is a sessional lecturer on human rights and humanitarian practice including the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Agenda. As the former Manager of the UNAA National SDGs Program which she established in 2017, Patricia continues to promote and advance the 2030 SDGs Agenda in Australia and internationally.

She has been appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2016 and was a finalist in the 2016 NSW Australian of the Year awards for her contribution and services to the international humanitarian aid and development sector over the past two decades.

Patricia has worked in some of the world’s longest running conflicts and complex humanitarian emergencies, including Afghanistan, Sudan, Bosnia and Burma, and with Rwandan refugees in the former Zaire in 1994, with organisations Austcare, Oxfam, Peace Winds Japan, German Agro Action, Norwegian Church Aid, UNHCR and UNOPS.

David Singleton AM – Former ISCA Chair

David Singleton seeks outcomes for a better world. He is one of Australia’s leading cities and infrastructure experts, with 40 plus years of experience, including 5 years as Arup’s CEO in Australia, 7 years as Arup’s global infrastructure leader and 7 years as Chairman of Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia. Five times one of Engineers Australia’s 100 Most Influential Engineers, David is a respected thought leader, expert advisor to academia, governments and global businesses on resilient leadership and practice, specialising in sustainable solutions for the infrastructure and built environment sectors.

David undertakes a number of roles in relation to smart cities and is currently Chairman of Swinburne University’s Smart Cities Research Institute Advisory Board, where he helps to improve the liveability, productivity & resilience of Australian communities through smart cities, sustainability in infrastructure and key city shaping projects.

Suzanne Toumbourou – ASBEC

Suzanne Toumbourou is the Executive Director of the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council, a body of peak organisations committed to a vision of more sustainable, productive and resilient buildings, communities and cities. Suzanne’s passion and expertise lies in communication, collaboration and an inclusive agenda for a sustainable Australia.

Suzanne hopes that there will be an increased market appetite for sustainable energy efficient building in the future, with a vision of creating buildings that are more comfortable and healthier to live and work in.

Suzanne has worked as the Executive Officer for Getup! and the Australian Conservation Foundation, harnessing her passion for sustainability to drive for genuine and broad sustainability inputs and outcomes across her work.

Sean Barnes – Akina Foundation

Sean Barnes is Director of Social Procurement with the Ākina Foundation in Aotearoa-New Zealand. His role is leading the Fwd: procurement programme and providing advisory services to support business, social enterprise and Government agencies in the areas of procurement, strategy and sustainability. Sean is passionate about realising the potential for business to deliver positive social and environmental impact and connecting people and ideas to lead change.

Sean has significant experience in leadership and executive roles in NZ and Australia with both the private and public sector, holds a Ph.D. in Chemical and Process Engineering, and is a Chartered Member of Engineering New Zealand. He also is a Trustee of the Engineering NZ Foundation.


Previous Next