ISCA 2015 AGM - ISCouncil
City Rail Link: Leading in Sustainability


Monday, 9 November 2015


This year Penny Townley and Nick Fleming resigned from their Core Director positions on the ISCA Board. Penny Townley was appointed to the ISCA Board in March 2010 representing the ISCA member organisation AECOM. Nick Fleming was appointed to the ISCA Board in November 2011 representing the Jacobs (previously SKM). The ISCA Board and Operations Team are grateful for their dedication and guidance through the formation of ISCA and the development of the IS rating scheme.

Also during the year Marko Misko (Clayton Utz) was appointed as a Casual Director in June 2015 and Menno Henneveld and Jayne Whitney both joined member organisations (Laing O’Rourke and UGL respectively) triggering their resignation as independent directors and appointment as casual directors. All Casual Director terms ended at the 2015 AGM and five candidates were nominated to fill three Core Director positions. The nominees were Marko Misko (Clayton Utz), Menno Henneveld (Laing O’Rourke), David Cruickshanks-Boyd (WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff), Jayne Whitney (UGL) and Nicole Rogers (McConnell Dowell). During the 2015 AGM ISCA members elected Marko Misko (Clayton Utz), Menno Henneveld (Laing O’Rourke) and Jayne Whitney (UGL) to fill the three vacancies.

The ISCA Board now has eleven (11) directors; David Singleton (Chair), Mark Rogers (Deputy Chair), Dale Connor, Russell Cuttler, Menno Henneveld, David Kinniburgh, Marko Misko, Leisel Moorhead, Alison Rowe, Craig Tucker and Jayne Whitney.

ISCA Members also unanimously supported the adoption a new Constitution. ISCA’s Constitution had not been comprehensively reviewed since its adoption in 2008. At the time, ISCA drew upon the Constitution of a kindred society. As ISCA matured, the suitability of the Constitution to meet the needs of the organisation diverged, and whilst attempts to amend the Constitution to address weaknesses had been made, the Board proposed the adoption a new Constitution which reflects a form and content which is better aligned to the purposes of ISCA and clearly sets out matters associated with the governance of the organisation more clearly and in greater detail.

Key changes to the Constitution include:

  • Changes to the nomenclature of Directors and establishment of three year terms
  • Removal of retirement provisions, save for all Directors’ terms which expire after three years, but are eligible for re-election
  • Better recognition of ISCA’s activities in the Objects of the Company
  • Alignment with charitable requirements
  • Removal of organisation type restrictions associated with the composition of the Board

Please note that the above is a very simplified overview of some of the key changes effected by the new Constitution, and is not and does not purport to be an exhaustive comparison.

Previous Next